Skip To Content
Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Student leaders recognized during annual awards night

Madison Shaff accepts her first of three awards, the J.R. Harding Award, from J.R. Harding at the Leadership Awards Night April 9, 2019. (Photo: Division of Student Affairs)

Florida State University students, employees and organizations gathered April 9 for the university’s annual Leadership Awards Night. The ceremony, sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs, honors the diverse collection of individuals and groups across campus who engage in leadership learning.

The awards and their recipients are:

President’s Award, given to an outstanding freshman for service to the university and who shows potential for future leadership and success: Maya Harris.

President’s Undergraduate Humanitarian of the Year Award, given to a student to recognize a tremendous commitment to cause through leadership and service: Kathryn Casello.

Academic Leadership Awards, given to one undergraduate and/or graduate student from each FSU college. The award is based on academic performance, university service, and other contributions both in and out of the classroom: Will Ash and Edna Sannicandra – Applied Sciences (FSU Panama City); Jaycob Goldsteen-Greenwood and Sydney Luciano – Arts & Sciences; Veronica Marin and Caroline Neil – Business; Kathleen (Katie) Coffee – Communication & Information; Megan Hill and Jonathan Reid – Criminology & Criminal Justice; Daniel Gregorio and Ashlyn Hendrix – Education; Fehintola Sanusi – Engineering; Dillon Gleeson and Meagan Haley – Fine Arts; Morgan Lancaster and Cuneyt Ozkardes – Human Sciences; Alan LaCerra – Law; Richard Wu and MaKayla Smith – Medicine; Savannah Berube, Brady Holcomb, Aimee Casey, Hannahah Roark – Motion Picture Arts; Alexandrer Arbeiter and Issac Barzso – Music; Kelsey Kaiser and Savannah Markel – Nursing; Vittorio Nastasi – Social Science & Public Policy; Cassidy Lewis and Megan Deichen Hansen – Social Work.

Bob E. Leach Award, given to an outstanding student who is known for exemplary leadership and service to the university, and who displays an attitude of “caring and sharing” exhibited through this service: Stephen Lemerand.

Sean A. Pittman Award, given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and dedication to the student body, university and community with significant contributions to the welfare and support of African-American students: Brandon Brown.

J.R. Harding Award, given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership abilities and exceptional persistence in achieving educational goals while overcoming personal obstacles: Madison Shaff.

Inter-Residence Hall Council Award, honors students of University Housing residence halls participating in Hall Council and other areas of Residence Life at Florida State. Recipients contribute above and beyond the call of duty in serving his or her residence hall and the entire FSU community: Stacey Alphonse.

University Health Services Student of the Year Award, given to one student or a group of students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and achievement in promoting health issues within the campus community: Christina Colgary.

Global Citizen Award, given to students who have been actively engaged in intercultural initiatives and exemplified leadership in promoting and supporting a global community among Florida State University students: Allison Lang, Vivianne Asturizaga.

The Dean’s Cup, given to students who have demonstrated a strong sense of commitment to the university’s Seminole Creed of truthfulness, respect, excellence, freedom of speech and inquiry, diversity, justice, citizenship and discovery: Carisha Chery, Samantha Kunin, Madison Shaff.

Alumni Ambassador Award, established by the FSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors, the award recognizes today’s students who are becoming tomorrow’s leaders: Abigail Engleman.

Instant Impact Student Leader of the Year, recognizes one up-and-coming student leader who has helped create his or her FSU experience by engaging in student activities: Anne Marie Yatsula.

Outstanding Student Leaders of the Year, recognizes those students who have exceeded expectations in their student activities involvement at FSU: Rachel Forman, Shayla Nguyen, Bailey Oliver, Kelly Ramirez, Josh Reiner, Daniela Villasmil.

Faculty/Staff Seminole Awards, given to faculty and staff members who demonstrate an exemplary attitude toward students, are enthusiastic about working with students and extend themselves to help students: Mecia Lockwood, Lisa Liseno, Meredith McQueery, Jim Zheng.

Student Seminole Awards, given to students who have made special contributions to the university in the areas of leadership and service: Madison Shaff, William Cutts, Whittany Johnbaptiste, Kyle Hudson, Kristian Diaz, Fabuola Pierre, Abby Reyes, Joslyn Armstrong, Saleshia Ellis.

Sports Club Member of the Year Award (Eddie Cubbon Award), given to an individual who has displayed exceptional dedication, spirit and leadership: Elicia Smith, Tennis Club.

Sports Club of the Year Award, given to a sports club that far exceeded expectations on and off the playing field by demonstrating good organization, attitude, spirit and commitment: Women’s Rugby Club.

Transfer Student Leadership Award, given to one outstanding transfer student who has demonstrated service to the university and shows potential for future leadership success: Kai Tillman.

Advisor of the Year Award, given to an employee who contributes exceptional time and expertise as a volunteer to a student organization: Rod Kelly.

William B. Clutter Union Board Member of the Year, is presented to a strong student leader who has consistently shown exceptional initiative, dedication, and service to the Oglesby Union Board and FSU community throughout their term: Chelsea Cordek.

Mary B. Coburn Student Organization of the Year Award, presented to a recognized student organization at FSU that has been responsible for major contributions to the university community or constituent group in the areas of service and leadership: Diversity & Inclusion Institute.

Vires Award, given to a recognized student organization that exemplifies determination and perseverance: The Big Event.

Artes Award, given to a recognized student organization that exemplifies scholastic achievement: Empowering Women Globally.

Mores Award, given to a recognized student organization to recognize outstanding contributions to the university’s Seminole tradition: Power of We.

For more information, visit